Savory Seafood Penne

This recipe came from Men’s Health.  Don’t you read Men’s Health every month?  Yea right.  You know it is a good magazine.  Gi Joe and The Athlete read it religiously.  It is a good magazine.  I will have to say that I have sat down and read my share of issues.  This is a recipe that The Athlete found last April.  I have prepared it at least a half-dozen times.  It is good for you and easy to make. 

This week I had a huge bag of beautiful spinach in my box from CSA and wanted to make good use of it.  I also had pesto left over from this recipe that I wanted to use. 

I changed the original  recipe today  and sautéed the spinach then added all the other ingredients.  I like the  original recipe better. The reason?  The hot pasta just does wilt the spinach and it gives more texture to the dish.   So here it is for you to enjoy.  Look at what you are getting:  22 grams of protein, 26 grams of carbohydrates, 19 grams of fat, and 5 grams of fiber . 

Here is what you will need to serve 2:

  • 2 oz. Barilla Plus penne pasta
  • 12- 14 shrimp
  • 2 tablespoons crumbled Gorgonzola cheese
  • 3 cups baby spinach
  • 1 tomato chopped I used about 12 grape tomatoes cut in half
  • 2 tablespoons chopped walnuts
  • 3 tablespoons pesto sauce

How to make it

Cook pasta according to directions:  the last 3 minutes add shrimp.  Cook just until they turn pink.  Drain. 

Have in a bowl spinach and add hot pasta and shrimp, cheese, tomatoes, walnuts and pesto stirring well to help wilt the spinach and mix the pesto.  Makes 2 servings.

Enjoy,

The Teacher Cooks

32 Comments

Filed under pasta, quick, Shrimp

32 responses to “Savory Seafood Penne

  1. Mike Neal

    The shrimp and noodles together look scrumptious.

  2. Brittany - 1st block.

    Oh yummy! I’m not a big fan of seafood, but this just looks absolutely delicious (:

  3. anna 1st block

    this sure looks delicious! 🙂

  4. alexis a

    I don’t really favor seafood, but i might consider making this for my family sometime.

  5. Danielle Rogers

    This looks great!! I love shrimp:)

  6. Kamryn Storey

    I dont eat seafood, but i might try a bite.

  7. tommie 1st period

    This looks really good even though I dont like seafood :).

  8. Rachel S.

    This looks yummy! (: I love pasta!

  9. Marianna

    This looks interesting, I don’t think I would eat it but I would love to try and cook it. Maybe its because there are vegetables in it:)

  10. Chelsea

    Seafood is by far not my choice of food. But im willing to try anything.

  11. Bethany Bowlin

    O wow! this looks great:) I love seafood and this just looks so easy, cant wait to make it:)!

  12. chasitywilson

    i love seafood and so this looks really good to me

  13. Tatiana G 1st period

    Ooooh this recipe looks WONDERFUL. I adore seafood and pasta. I actually would love to try this.

  14. shalynne

    I love the way you captured that image of your Savory Seafood Penne.

  15. erika

    this looks really good and very quick to cook i think i would love to try it one day when i want to cook something quick and easy.

  16. heather

    This look really good and seems easy enough to cook.

  17. tania

    this looks very tasty and healthy

  18. Sarah J.

    MmMm… This looks so great i love shrimp and don’t mind trying new stuff so i can’t wait to make it. 🙂

  19. Lexxi J

    Oh My Gosh. This looks sooooooo good. I love shrimp and pasta!

  20. Courtney E

    WOW!!! This look soooo… good wish i could eat some right now! : )

  21. Cnthia I

    this looks delious ! very well prepared && nicely cooked.

  22. vaida r.

    This looks mouth watering! It seems like it would be wonderful when craving seafood.

  23. Naomi

    The shrimp looks really good.

  24. amber g

    This looks so yummy and the best part is its healthy for you.

  25. Callie

    This looks incredible and very healthy!!
    You should cook it for me one day!! lol

  26. Sasha W.

    this looks very healthy! i would cook this for my mom (because she is trying to lose about 15 pounds), but she hates seafood!:)

  27. amy wil

    this looks yummy! except im allergic to shrimp:/

  28. This looks absolutely delicious! YUM!

  29. Aaron Vantrees

    WOW!!! that looks really good, seafood is one of my best foods to eat.

  30. kim s

    this looks amazing! seafood is my favorite thing to eat.

  31. Alex

    I ABSOLUTELY love penne pasta!! I’m not a big fan of seafood, but this is a quick easy something whip up for company!

  32. Jasmine Jones

    This meal is verrrry healthy w/ 22 grams of protein, 26 grams of carbohydrates, 19 grams of fat, and 5 grams of fiber, I would have no problem eating this 🙂

Leave a comment